Balaphon

The musician Aly Keïta was building an enormous balaphone, which has been specially made for a festival. Keita is from a family of musicians that has been playing the balaphone for generations and thus created a tradition. The crafting of the instruments is part of the musicians´ training. Keita has learned his craft from Zouratié Coulibaly, a famous musician in Mali.

This diatonic balaphone has 29 slats made of palisander. Calebasses serve as soundboxes, all elements are tied togehter with cowhide cords. In order to produce a sound that sends out soft metallic vibrations, membranes of a smoothed out spider´s nest have been attached to the inside of the soundboxes. Four sticks with natural caoutchouc for playing the instrument.

The balaphone is 3 metres in length and up to 1.35 metres in width. Built for professional purposes, it is, to our knowledge, one of the largest instrument of its kind. During four months, Aly Keïta has traveled to three countries to find calebasses of the size needed.


main page commisions

Balaphon

Der Musiker Aly Keïta baute ein exeptionell großes Balafon für ein Festival in Frankreich. Der Musiker ist Balafonist aus einer alten Musikerfamilie die seit Generationen dieses Instrument spielt und pflegt. Teil der Ausbildung zum Musiker ist auch die Herstellung der Instrumente. Den Bau von pentatonischen Balafons lernte er bei dem bekannten Zouratié Coulibaly in Mali.

Das abgebildete diatonische Balafon hat 29 Lamellen aus Palisander. Als Resonanzkörper wurden Kallebassen verwendet und alles ist mit Rindslederschnüren gebunden. Um einen besonderen Klang zu erreichen der leicht metallig schwingt sind an der Innenseite an der Öffnung des Klangkörpers Membranen eines besonders geglätteten Spinnennestes angebracht.

Zum Balafon gehören 4 Stöcke mit Naturkautschuk. Es ist 3 m lang und an der breiten Seite 1,35 m. Dieses Balafon ist nach unserem Kenntnisstand das bisher größte für professionelle Zwecke gebaute Instrument seiner Art. Aly Keïta reiste durch drei Länder und benötigte vier Monate bis alle Kallebassen der notwendigen Größe gefunden wurden.


main page commisions

Longitude 0/20